Camera: Pure Michigan

This past summer, there were two perfect weeks in which all of my siblings were home. That first week, we did things here in town, but the second week, we rented a fantastic house a few yards from a quiet, private beach in Holland, Michigan. Lake Michigan was the warmest we’ve ever felt it, and we spent more time in the water than we ever have. Days were divided between our little beach camp and our lovely screened in porch, where we ate meals, played games, and read books. It was a relaxing, blissful week, and I loved having so much time alone with my family. If you’ve never been to Michigan, there are some incredible places along Michigan’s west coast, including the charming town of Holland. Michigan’s beaches are clean and lovely and you can easily forget that you are on a giant lake and not the ocean. Michigan holds many special memories for my family, and this trip was no exception.

Our beautiful coastline for the week:

IMG_9008

Wave patterns in the sand:

IMG_8892

Big Red Lighthouse:

IMG_9030

Glorious Michigan sunsets:

IMG_9054

 

IMG_9079

 

IMG_8985

On our way out of town, we stopped near Saugatuck for an insane dune buggy ride. If you weren’t wearing your seatbelt, you were dead. It was a blast.

IMG_9134

My sister, Maria, and brother-in-law, Andrew. Maria weighs about 95 lbs MAYBE, so she clung to the bar for dear life.

IMG_9138

Believe it or not, a town was here before the sands blew in from the lake. The trees here are actually tree tops; the trunks of these trees go on for yards beneath the sand where their roots find water.

IMG_9139

Also, I don’t know if I’ve ever shown them off, but this is my family I love so dearly: my younger brother, Zach, me, my brother-in-law, Andrew, my sister, Maria, Dad, and Mom.

IMG_8996

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Camera: Pure Michigan

  1. Marsha says:

    Sounds like you had an amazing time with your sweet family at the beach near Holland, Michigan. That’s not so far from where we live either! What lovely photos of wonderful memories of your time there.

    • breetsuts says:

      I forgot to mention that I actually showed up on Cindy’s front door to surprise her with a visit! I just love that part of Michigan. Thanks for stopping by, Mrs. W!

  2. Such a great week! Perfect actually. That picture of me and Andrew so accurately depicts each of our individual feelings about that dune buggy ride… haha!

  3. Cindy Lyzenga says:

    Nice post, Bree, and love the family photo.

Leave a Reply

