New Chapter = New Bedroom

I shared a room with my sister for about 20 years. We haven’t redecorated since Maria & I were little, and I’m not really a huge fan of pink. Maria got married over the summer and moved out. It made me quite sad to have her suddenly gone from our little room. I didn’t think to take “before” pics until we moved out her furniture, but oh well…

 

…aaaaaaand after:

My walls received a coat of light sage paint and thick white curtains nicely diffuse the natural light from my awesomely large window. Since these photos were taken, I have found a chocolate brown bed skirt to replace the bed skirt from two bedding sets ago, and taken Mom & Dad’s old armchair and put it to the left of my bookcase. Which brings me to my bookcase: I love it.

 

 

My room is now my little oasis. I can’t afford to have my own place, but I at least have a little retreat that feels like I belong there. I smile when I walk in, and I’m smiling when I leave. Remarkable what a coat of paint and some re-designing will do. It’s also nice to have my easel next to my bed for those middle-of-the-night wake-ups when I can’t fall back to sleep.

Tagged , , ,

5 thoughts on “New Chapter = New Bedroom

  1. M says:

    Bree – this is so amazing and so fitting for you! I can’t believe how gorgeous that room is. Will you come decorate every room in our apartment??

    Thanks for the wooden shoes shout-out.

  2. Sam says:

    Oh my goodness, I love it! It is so you!

  3. lesliepaints says:

    Love the green you chose for the walls, Bree. I had a room that color and it was the best! It felt cool in the summer and warm in the winter.
    Can’t wait for you to use that easel!

Leave a Reply

