Independence

My sister turned 23 on Friday.  She is living in an apartment attached to a house, and she’s been nagging me for art.  Instead of allowing her to take something I’ve already finished, I decided to paint a larger piece that reflected Maria more personally.  Maria likes bright colors.  She loves Americana and is passionate about our young nation’s history.  The piece that was formed from my knowledge of and love for my sister became “Independence”.  The background is whiter than it appears here.  I used Prussian blue, Grumbacher red, gold, and titanium white.  Maria loved it, and I am quite happy with the result:

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Independence

  1. lesliepaints says:

    Perfect! The color choices back up the title and the energy with all these tendrils moving across the canvas keeps the attention. You are fantastic with these abstract compositions, Bree!

  2. Patrick and Kristen says:

    I have been waiting to see this! I LOVE it! I know Maria will treasure this for many moons! You see the world in a fantastically unique way, I appreciate your gift and I appreciate YOU!!! Hugs~K

  3. Meggie says:

    Gorgeous, and perfect for Maria. I’m proud that I have your artwork in my own apartment… I’m looking at it right now, missing you.

Leave a Reply

