People Are Jumping Out Of Windows

I remember the second plane hitting and the towers falling.  I remember people running out of the city, the mass exodus across the Brooklyn Bridge, citizens coated in thick layers of dust and dirt and grime.  I remember smoke and fear and sorrow and shock.  What I remember most clearly, though, the first thing I ever think of when I hear “September 11” is people jumping out of windows.  I remember the horror of watching people just like me, taking a hopeless situation into their own helpless hands and jumping, falling, clothes and limbs flailing about as they plummeted to earth and eternity.  This is my clearest memory of that day.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “People Are Jumping Out Of Windows

  1. Powerful, Bree. Your comment on this piece is particularly moving because of it’s simplicity and starkness.

  2. Oh gosh, I wrote “it’s” instead of “its.” There is no way to edit these things after you hit post! It’s driving me nuts.

  3. I also remember the horror of people jumping. I can’t even imagine the pain and suffering they must have been going through, to even think of jumping. These were people with a mother, father, a wife, husband and kids, that decided death by jumping, because of the pain, was worth losing everything they love. I hope to never see another day or event like this one, but I hope no one ever forgets what was lost that day and others like it around the world in the past.
    God Bless!

  4. lesliepaints says:

    Incredible feeling must have been put into this piece, Bree. I love it. Rather than thinking of them plummeting to their death, in this piece. I see the beauty of souls rising from the dust and going home. Very strong, vivid and fitting for what happened that day.

  5. Agatha says:

    I dont know wether it was you or another woman on TV saying that very sentence “people are jumping out of the windows ” I write from Spain and I speak spanish but that sentence really shocked me. Then i realised it was no fiction. Horrible thing.

Leave a Reply

