Nature of Remembering

I was devouring a recent issue of the Smithsonian Magazine when I came upon an interesting article concerning the nature of memories.  A region of the brain, fabulously named the hippocampus, stores the memories we make.  An electronic image was shown in the article, in which the microscopic nerve cells had been stained green to make them more visible.  The gorgeous array is where information is encoded and memories are “made”.  Due to my love for painting bright colors on black backgrounds, I took the intriguing image and painted the following: 

Tagged , , ,

8 thoughts on “Nature of Remembering

  1. ashely says:

    holy flip. i am loving those lines.

  2. lesliepaints says:

    This is absolutely intriguing, Bree. When I first viewed it, I had not read your post. I envisioned a landscape at night from above. The green being the trees, the orange the lights of campfires and nightlife going on. There is heat lightning playing across the scene. Whoa! Then I found out it was our brain! Why not? It, too, is a virtual landscape. I LOVE this. Very creative!

  3. Artswebshow says:

    this looks fantastic

  4. artimagica says:

    Hi Bree. Stopped by when I saw Leslie’s reference to you on her comments. Your piece is wonderful and interesting. I love the story behind it and how you interpreted it into a piece. Before I got to the end of your post I was thinking maybe that was the actual picture you had seen! Nice rendition of your own.

  5. breetsuts says:

    Thanks, everyone, for the kind words. This has become one of my favorite pieces I’ve ever created.

  6. CarolKing says:

    Very cool. I like stuff about the brain and I like this painting!

  7. Samantha says:

    I love this!!! Some day you will have to paint me something 🙂 You might want to wait 50 years until I will have money to pay you tho haha

Leave a Reply

