Madeleines

Having purchased my longed-for Madeleine baking pan, I finally made the delicate cookie-cakes a few days ago.  No one, on either side of the family, has ever made Madeleines, so I had no idea what to expect.  The only thing I had to go on was my memory of how incredibly delightful were the Madeleines made by the mom of my dear friend, Christine.  I carefully followed the recipe below:

2 large eggs

2/3 cup granulated sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon lemon zest

pinch of salt

1 cup all-purpose flour

10 tablespoons (1 1/4 sticks) of unsalted butter, melted, and slightly cooled

powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Spray Madeleine pan with cooking spray or generously butter.  Using electric mixer, beat the eggs and 2/3 cup of sugar in a large bowl just until blended.  Beat in vanilla, lemon zest and salt.  Add flour; beat just until blended.  Gradually add cooled melted butter in a steady stream, beating until just blended.

NOTE:  At this point, I freaked out a little, as my “cookie-ish” batter suddenly turned in a runnier “cakey” batter.  I tried to have a little faith in myself, and after baking the first batch, I realized that is what is supposed to happen to the batter.

Carefully spoon batter into each Madeleine indentation in the pan, like this:

Bake until puffed and browned around the edges: 6-8 minutes for small Madeleines, 14-16 minutes for large Madeleines.  Cool for 5 minutes, then gently remove each Madeleine from the pan.  Repeat the process, spraying or buttering the pan before each batch.

For a final, yummy flair, dust the cooled Madeleines with powdered sugar.  Now, my mom has this gorgeous, scalloped China plate with exquisite little blue flowers on it, and I dug it out.  See, I believe that elegant little cookie-cakes deserve an elegant presentation.

These are so light and delightful and go fabulously with black coffee or tea.  It is not possible to eat just one.

Tagged , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Madeleines

  1. ashely says:

    I WANT SOME! your photography is beautiful. i’m inspired to buy a madeleine pan and make some asap.

  2. lesliepaints says:

    Those look great, Bree! I admire anyone who is inspired by cooking. You have to have something called a Madeleine pan? Amazing.

  3. Alina says:

    I already tryed this recipe 😉
    The Madeleines are very delicious!!! 🙂
    THank you for remember me of this old recipe,dear friend!

    Enjoy the moment!! 🙂

  4. These are so lovely! Wish I could try them… I’m inspired to hunt down my own Madeleine pan.

  5. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Bree Tsuleff. Bree Tsuleff said: Madeleines: http://wp.me/pCtrU-68 […]

  6. Mmm they look very yummy.

Leave a Reply

