Capturing motion

I was intrigued the day I walked into advanced painting and found a long white sheet billowing in the air from being attached to a fan.  The sheet made beautiful motions, none of them repeating one another.  Our assignment was to capture the motion.  See, I came from a background of realistic painting and decided to take advanced painting for fun my senior year.  The prof was one of my favorites, and I should have known he would be coaxing, if not forcing, me into abstract painting.  Now I was supposed to paint “motion”.  I sat there, thinking about the soft way in which the sheet moved: gentle billows, not energetic flapping.  I followed the lines made by the sheet and decided to minimize my usual techniques, resulting in Transcendence:

Tagged , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Capturing motion

  1. Michael says:

    🙂

  2. lesliepaints says:

    I like line, so I like this. Absolutely flowing!

  3. ashely says:

    I remember this painting! I also remember how I twisted your arm to get into that class.

  4. Alina says:

    Interesting painting!
    In a word I can say is: continuity! 😉

    Enjoy the moment,dear friend!! 🙂

  5. Yousei Hime says:

    Leslie left me your link after reading a poem I wrote about sheets. Lovely art and enjoyable reading. Thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

