“You can learn a lot of things from the flowers.”

One of the things I love about the blogosphere is other artists.  I miss being around other artists all the time, as I was in college.  Blogs give me an opportunity to see what others are doing and to be inspired.  A couple weeks ago, a fellow blogger posed a challenge, to somehow interpret a picture he had posted.  I was fresh out of painting ideas and was curious to see how others would respond, so I painted.

As usual with my work, it took a very different direction from what I was expecting.  As I neared what would perhaps be a finish, I could not stop thinking about how my interpretation was reminiscent of the scene from Lewis Carroll’s Alice In Wonderland in which a tiny Alice is wandering through a massive garden of flowers.  I kept expecting to see her in her blue dress, tip toeing apprehensively through the giant flowers……so……I painted her into it, too.  The finished product looks nothing like what I was expecting, but it is very much me.

Tagged , , , , ,

12 thoughts on ““You can learn a lot of things from the flowers.”

  1. Oh gorgeous piece, I love the body language of Alice. She looks somewhat apprehensive but also intrigued and inquisitive.

  2. lesliepaints says:

    How cool with the little Alice! I also like your different shapes that individualised the poppies as though they have come to life. Creative!

  3. Bree this is beautiful, and so you!
    The dark colors and the fantasy touch at the bottom is perfect. I was hoping someone would take a fantasy route with the reference. I actually thought about making the poppy pods into little aliens or something, but decided to stick with the spring colors and style. Thank you so much for joining in on my fun!

  4. CarolKing says:

    Another great poppy challenge painting and the addition of Alice just cracked me up. She’s fun and whimsical and really made this painting special.

  5. Goldenpear says:

    How fun! She’s so tiny you almost miss her in the bold colors of the flowers and grass, and then when you spot her, it’s even more spectacular. 🙂

  6. Alina says:

    Wooooow.
    I LOVE IT!
    The poppies are so beautiful and fragil!
    The colors full of joy and transmet me lot of optimism.
    10X for share it!! 🙂

    Enjoy the moment!!! 🙂

  7. breetsuts says:

    Thanks so much, everyone, for the sweet comments. I’ve loved looking at everyone’s interpretations. This was such a fun idea from asmalltowndad!

  8. Beth Parker says:

    This is beautiful, Bree! Very creative and beautifully done! 🙂

  9. thewhiteswan says:

    Very cool touch adding Alice, so creative.

  10. Really like how tall everything is, the fuzziness of the pods. You got it all going on here and then to add Alice is perfect.
    peace n abundance
    CheyAnne

  11. Bree, this has a very modern sensibility. Strong design and vibrant colors. Everything pushing to the edges. Very nice.

Leave a Reply

