Until the Second Coming…

We said goodbye to my great-uncle a few weeks ago.  The funeral was a traditional, Eastern Orthodox service, and those are always very liturgical and beautiful.  I don’t know if I have just never noticed before or if this was actually the first time I have seen it done, but the priest, after blessing the casket with holy water, then tapped each side of the casket with a cross, saying:  “This tomb is sealed until the second coming of Christ.”

I’ve been thinking about that since then, the idea of millions of people swiftly gathered to heaven, and things of an apocalyptic nature.  It led to the following painting, which took a completely different direction than what I had originally intended.  I’m not sure what else to do with it, if anything:

Detail:  I dried rose petals from my great-uncle’s funeral, lacquered them, then brushed silver metallic paint onto them for this look.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Until the Second Coming…

  1. I love this so much, Bree! At first, the petals look like controlled rips in the canvas, and I thought it was so cool because it looked like opened, empty graves. It was shocking, surreal, and hopeful all at once–that all those graves would lose their victory over the saints kept inside…just like the grave couldn’t contain Christ. I don’t know if you were even going for that at all, but I loved it.

  2. I like the idea of incorporating the dried flowers into the painting — what a great way remember and honour someone who has died!

  3. lesliepaints says:

    This is so meaningful. Love the story and the painting.

  4. Wonderful. The inspiration, incorporation of the rose petals. They almost seem to be floating upward. As a non-artist, I thank you again for giving something like this to us.

  5. breetsuts says:

    Thank you so much for your encouragement everyone! This is a very personal painting, and those aren’t always received or understood well. I appreciate everyone’s insight and kind words.

  6. Such a beautiful pieces and I think the use of the rose petals is wonderful and such a lovely touch.

Leave a Reply

