Plague of Festering Boils

I really pondered how gross festering boils would be:  all of the puss and fluid and oozing.  I feel pretty confident that I managed to capture that in this rather icky painting.

Then the Lord said to Moses and Aaron, “Take handfuls of soot from a brick kiln, and have Moses toss it into the air while Pharaoh watches.  The ashes will spread like fine dust over the whole land of Egypt, causing festering boils to break out on people and animals throughout the land.”

So they took soot from a brick kiln and went and stood before Pharaoh.  As Pharaoh watched, Moses threw the soot into the air, and boils broke out on people and animals alike.          Exodus 9:8-10

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Plague of Festering Boils

  1. lesliepaints says:

    This definitely looks like scabby boils, Bree. Yuck. Gotta give it to you for sticking with this one!

    • breetsuts says:

      I had kind of turned into a machine while I was pumping out this series, and I didn’t realize how gross this one was until I was looking at them all together. I stepped back and thought: “Ewwwww.”
      Thanks, Leslie!!!

  2. Michael says:

    Actually, this one’s kinda pretty! Maybe it’s just because I’m getting a distant overview and can’t see the “details” of the boils. 🙂 I was kind of afraid to check it out, and then once I saw it I was all “well, gee, this is aesthetically kind of attractive.”

  3. I love how you manage to make things look gross and beautiful at the same time. Seriously, I would hang every single one of these plague paintings in my bedroom. Seriously.

Leave a Reply

