Plague of Blood

Part of our final requirements for advanced painting was a series of paintings.  This put me in a panic: less than a week to produce a series of paintings?!  I was suddenly struck by the Old Testament plagues on Egypt, the overwhelming terror and misery they must have produced.  I tried to the best of my ability to capture that in my series of ten, small paintings.  It ended up being my favorite pieces produced in that class, my final art class of college.  Here is the first:

“As Pharaoh and all of his officials watched, Aaron raised his staff and struck the water of the Nile.  Suddenly, the whole river turned to blood!  The fish in the river died, and the water became so foul that the Egyptians couldn’t drink it.  There was blood everywhere throughout the land of Egypt.”          Exodus 7:20-21

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Plague of Blood

  1. I love this series, Brittany. What a powerful depiction of this plague! I hope you put the others up too. They’re all wonderful.

  2. breetsuts says:

    Yes, my dear, you will be seeing all ten plagues. 🙂 Thanks, Val: you’ve always been an encouragement!

  3. talikatzman says:

    Hey,

    I was wondering if you could take a look at my artwork?

    • breetsuts says:

      Hey, thanks for visiting! I just took a look at your blog and left you a message. Did I see you were in Israel? That’s amazing!

  4. Ryan says:

    This is powerful and can’t wait to see the rest!

  5. lesliepaints says:

    Wow.The depth you created in some areas of the water is wonderful. The surface glimmers. Nice interpretation.

Leave a Reply

