Wednesday of Ashes

First entrance into ancient duomo

of breath-taking enormity

Black and white pillars reach to heaven

Fog settles

from familiar incense

Massive crowd of sinners and saints

steeped in tradition

Priests chant

a sermon in lyrical tongue

Repentance, forgiveness

long line for Lent

Kneeling before a priest

receiving my blessing

and a dusting of ashes

In this new place,

this medieval town,

I am part of something greater

A new life

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Wednesday of Ashes

  1. jingle says:

    wow,
    beautiful poem!

    • breetsuts says:

      I appreciate your comment! I am far less confident about my feeble attempts at poetry than I am about my painting and photography, so I am grateful for the encouragement.

  2. lesliepaints says:

    This is a beautiful description of a moment in time, Bree. Cool comparison of fog to incense burning.

Leave a Reply

