Fear and the Truly Terrifying

I have a genuine fear of heights, and I have no idea from where it came.  If I attempt to take part in a height-filled activity, I literally freeze and cannot move, and someone has to work incredibly hard to coax me along.  While my acrophobia is real and something I cannot get past, there are many things in life that just generally freak me out.

Now, some people are frightened by terrorism, guns, ethnic minorities or gangsters, but I went to public school, so I’m all: “what’s the big deal?”  I am far more apprehensive of the truly freaky and/or terrifying:

Squid.  I’m confident the Kraken was based on giant squid, and it’s totally understandable why all those pirates were so terrified.

Ventriloquist dummies.  What insane person thought that was a great idea?! They are truly terrifying with their wide, demonic eyes and their creepy, jerky movements.  No wonder there’s a horror movie dedicated to them, which I will never see.

Clowns.  I never should have seen any part of It, because every time I see a clown, no matter how harmless he/she/it seems, this is all I can think of:

Spiders, and most bugs in general, with their creepiness and oozing and fangs.  I couldn’t even look up pictures to post because I felt like they were crawling all over me.

Children in horror films.  Why are kids so much more creepy in scary movies than adults (with the exception of Jack Nicholson)?!

Tornadoes make my stomach turn with the way they swoop in out of nowhere with incredible force and power and leave behind a wake of destruction, much in the way of a high school girl.

So, there you have it:  I have given you all the information you need to completely damage me.  In hindsight, this entry was a bad idea.  All one has to do is strap me to a high place and force me to watch all the things listed above (including Jack Nicholson and Carrot Top) and I am in a straight jacket for life.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Fear and the Truly Terrifying

  1. lesliepaints says:

    I share the fear of heights with you. I can fly, however, but often become airsick on take-off. I also get carsick in the back seat of a car. Is it vertigo that causes these things? When I am up high, I feel the movement of the building, the ladder, the platform etc.It is a feeling of being lost in space.I would probably benefit from learning how to feel grounded when my feet are not touching the ground. lol
    The other things listed would frighten me on a dark night with creepy music playing or if I came face to face with a squid while swimming in the ocean. I think squid may live deeper than where I will swim. Fun post. I will not tie you to a high place because I’m not going there! 🙂

  2. Katie says:

    Thank you so much for not posting spider pictures!

    Bree, since finding your blog after you posted it on Facebook, I’ve LOVED reading it (especially the Italy posts, of course). So thanks for sharing!

  3. Michael says:

    There are two ultimate “ventriloquist dummy” films, both with impeccable credentials:

    1) MAGIC (1978) starring Anthony Hopkins as the ventriloquist, directed by Richard Attenborough. It’s a quietly creepy film, at least that’s what I remember from seeing it 20 years ago. http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0077889/

    2) DEAD OF NIGHT (1945) — This is one of my all-time favorite films, and it’s a kind of “anthology” film with several unrelated stories in it connected by an underlying story where everyone is at a house and contributes their own story. While the ventriloquist tale is only one of 5 stories in the film, it’s the one everyone most remembers, and the ventriloquist is played by one of the greatest British actors of the time, Sir Michael Redgrave (father of Vanessa and Lynn Redgrave). The pedigree on this film is astonishing: it has four directors (one uncredited), two of them among of the most distinguished in the British film industry of the period: Charles Crichton (a long career that reached from “The Lavender Hill Mob” to episodes of “The Avengers” to his final film, with John Cleese, “A Fish Called Wanda” ) and Basil Dearden (Redgrave’s classic “The Captive Heart” ). Among the writers were H.G. Wells and E.F. Benson, much-renowned authors of serious novels in the UK. It was also the screen debut of Sally Ann Howes (star of “Chitty Chitty Bang Bang”), who is only a teenager in this film. http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0037635/

    It’s really one of the classiest movies about the supernatural ever made. It was made during World War II but not released until after the war was over because the studio thought it would be too unsettling for people in wartime. It’s among my ten most favorite films of all time and I recommend it without reservation — but it has one of THE creepiest sequences with a ventriloquist’s dummy in it ever, in part because the whole tone of it is so serious (and not over-the-top like contemporary horror films that don’t seem “real” at all) and Redgrave’s performance so intense that it’s just quietly freaky.

    Similarly, Anthony Hopkins’ understated expert acting in MAGIC makes that film creepier than many a more garish later film….

  4. Amy Schierloh says:

    Thought I’d throw this one out there:

    • breetsuts says:

      I will NEVER forget the time we were on the flag football fields freshman year and that flock of geese headed our way and you took off for the safety of the trees. Classic. Thanks for all of your comments, dear friend!

Leave a Reply

