Sorrento smells of lemons and basil…

I visited Sorrento in the peak of lemon season.  Fresh limoncello was available everywhere, and I’ll never forget my first taste.  It was served to me in a shot glass.  Now, I was only aware of American shots:  you down the whole thing at once.  That’s what I did, and I didn’t realize that wasn’t proper until I noticed the stunned expression of the limoncello lady.  I indicated that I wanted to look at some of the beautiful bottles, even though my innards were burning as if doused with acid.  I was supposed to sip the liquor:  oops.

The smell of lemons and fresh herbs always seemed to linger in the air of Sorrento.  The Amalfi coast is understandably Italy’s luxury riviera.  Maybe someday I’ll write more about Sorrento…

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Sorrento smells of lemons and basil…

  1. Valerie says:

    I love love love this painting. I also was served a shot of homemade limoncello in Sora, Italy. However, Maria (the woman who served me this concoction) just told me to down it all at once, as she did. Heat just shot out from my stomach to the tips of my fingers and toes. I will never forget that experience.

  2. lesliepaints says:

    Keep painting! I love the story that accompanies your lemony watercolor.

Leave a Reply

