Egg Nog

My grandpa has a special holiday recipe for egg nog:  rum, brandy and bourbon.  In fact, the actual egg nog barely makes an appearance.  It’s more of a cocktail stinger with the potential to kill you, yet my cousins (mostly male) look forward to Christmas with my Nana & Papa because Papa always mixes his liquored-up egg nog.  My sister, a pint-sized, 100 lb. fireball loves the egg nog and drinks it with little effect on her personality; as for me, one sip makes my organs burn.

Egg nog is a dying Christmas tradition; very few people serve it anymore, what with the fear of salmonella.  In my mother’s family, it’s a necessity,, even if it is because a person gets only a shot of egg nog in a glass of liquor.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

